What if your best is not good enough?

Jerry Glazer
Dec 12, 2022

--

I often wondered if the events I witnessed on the battlefield appeared the same in others.

Some incidents did not seem possible.

How could there be such horror?

The quantum destruction, monstrous injuries, and death. I could not make sense of it all.

Yet, we needed to perform our duty as if the past did not matter. Sometimes, I would start the day thinking, “What hideous images will confront me today?”

Unfortunately, the war always had something more grotesque in store. It never occurred to me that we were slip-sliding into the insanity that followed us home.

For the incredible story of our Special Ops team, join the growing vietnamjerry.com community and read the first chapter of Vietnam Uncensored and the weekly newsletter with insights and book launch dates.

--

--

Jerry Glazer

Jerry Glazer is an author of short stories, essays and novels. The 1st chapter of his Vietnam memoir can be read for free at www.vietnamjerry.com